New Year’s Eve is a festive time of year when friends and families get together to celebrate, socialize, and enjoy a party. Social drinking is especially common at New Year’s Eve events when people are enjoying themselves in each other’s company. However, during the New Year’s Eve holiday, DWI enforcement is heavily underway, and a DUI arrest could land you in hot water – and in jail.
If you have been arrested and/or charged with driving while intoxicated (DWI) over New Year’s, the Houston DWI defense attorneys at Turnbull Legal Group are ready to assist you. In some instances, you might be able to challenge the circumstances of your DUI arrest or the test results that were obtained by law enforcement. Whatever your situation, you can rest assured that our legal team will explain all of your legal options to you in full and can help you obtain the best possible result in your case.
Give us a call today at 832-314-3232 or contact us online to learn more about how we could assist you with defending against your criminal DWI charge.
Legal Intoxication Standard in Texas
Under the law in the State of Texas, a non-commercial, age 21-plus driver is considered legally intoxicated if he or she is found to have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08 percent or higher. Different standards apply to commercial drivers and underage drivers.
Commercial drivers, including commercial truck drivers and school bus drivers, who operate vehicles professionally are held to a higher standard. Specifically, a commercial driver will be considered legally intoxicated if his or her BAC is 0.04 percent or higher while operating a vehicle.
When it comes to minors, the State of Texas employs a zero-tolerance policy. In other words, a driver who is under 21 years of age is considered legally intoxicated if any amount of alcohol is detected in his or her system.
Potential DWI Penalties
Given that DWIs often lead to motor vehicle collisions and serious injuries, Texas treats drunk driving convictions harshly. The penalties also increase significantly if you are a multiple-DWI offender. The potential penalties upon conviction for non-commercial drivers include the following:
- A maximum of 180 days of incarceration and/or a maximum $2,000 fine, along with a 90-day driver’s license suspension, for a first-time DUI offender
- A maximum of one year of incarceration and/or a maximum fine of $4,000, along with a one-year driver’s license suspension, for a second-time offender within five years
- Between two and ten years of incarceration and/or a maximum $10,000 fine, along with a one-year driver’s license suspension, for a third-time offender within five years
There is also an enhanced penalty in cases where a drunk driver has a passenger who is under the age of 15 with him or her in the vehicle. In that instance, the driver can be sentenced to between 180 days and two years of jail time, along with a maximum monetary fine of $10,000.
Speak with a Houston DWI Defense Lawyer Today
Let the skilled team at Turnbull Legal Group assist you with your DWI legal defense today. For a free case evaluation and legal consultation, please call us today at 832-314-3232 or contact us online for more information.BACK TO BLOG